TO GET A NEBRASKA PERMIT: An
applicant must meet and maintain the following requirements:
-Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
-Not be prohibited from purchasing or possessing a handgun by 18 U.S.C.
922 as that section existed on January 1, 2005;
-Possess the eyesight necessary for a Class “O” operator’s
-Not have plead guilty or nolo contendere or been convicted of a felony
or crime of violence in any jurisdiction in the past 10 years;
-Not currently be adjudged mentally incompetent or have been found to
be mentally ill and dangerous in the past ten (10) years. Emergency protective custody (EPC) does not disqualify an applicant
unless it is followed by formal proceedings or treatment. (There are no time restrictions on the disqualification for this
item under federal law 18 U.S.C. 922);
- Must be a resident of the state of Nebraska for at least the past 180 days. (If you maintain a residence in
another state for voting or tax purposes you are not eligible to apply for a Nebraska CHP- Unless you are active duty Military
- Have had no violations of any law of this state relating to firearms,
unlawful use of a weapon, or controlled substances or of any similar law of another jurisdiction in the ten (10) years preceding
the date of application.;
- Not be on parole, probation, house arrest, or work release for any type
of offense of any degree. This disqualification does not include pre-trial diversion unless it is from a jurisdiction which
requires the offender to enter a guilty plea before diversion;
- Be a citizen of the United States;
- Provide proof of training. (Certificate for completing the training class)
APPLYING FOR THE NEBRASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT:
*** Note you must first take the training class before applying
for the Concealed Handgun permit. Proof of training is required at the time of application for the permit.
**** You must have a NE Drivers license (or) NE ID card AND
a US Passport or Birth Certificate when applying for the Concealed Handgun Permit.
Applicants must present a completed/notorazied application
form and necessary documentation in person, during normal business hours to the Criminal Identification Division (CID) Office in
Lincoln, or any Troop Area Headquarters outside of Lincoln, listed below:
Criminal Identification Office -3800 NW 12th
Troop A Headquarters- 4411 South 108th St.- Omaha
Troop B Headquarters- 1401 Eisenhower Avenue- Norfolk
Troop C Headquarters- 3431 Old Potash Highway- Grand Island
Troop D Headquarters- 300 W. South River Road- North Platte
Troop E Headquarters-4500 Avenue I- Scottsbluff
Omaha office hours are: 8am-4:00pm Monday - Friday
CALL FOR AN APPOINTMENT at the other locations
Click here to download the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit Application
Click here for a CHECKLIST when applying for your Nebraska Permit
The vision statement is for those individuals who do not possess a valid Nebraska Driver's License.
Utah Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits:
A resident of any state can obtain a state of Utah permit to carry
a concealed firearm, that is valid in several different states.
In order to apply for the Utah non-resident permit, you must take a Utah
specific class taught by a Utah BCI certified Instructor.
To apply for a Utah Permit:
(Your Utah class Instructor will provide you with the application and they must stamp their Utah BCI seal
on your application)
You will then need to have a local law enforcement agency finger print you,
a photo copy of your drivers license, you will need a passport photo (easily done at WalMart photo lab, or you can take your
own). Everything is then done through the mail. Utah permits typically take 30-60 days to process. DO NOT CALL TO CHECK
ON THE STATUS OF YOUR PERMIT!
Minimum requirements for application for a concealed firearms permit in Utah are:
- Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
- Must have a NE Concealed Handgun Permit
Proof of good character...whereas the applicant;
- has not been convicted of a felony;
- has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol; ie. DUI/DWI (Within the past 5
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
- has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the
adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed
*A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.
ILLINOIS NON-RESIDENT CONCEALED
TO GET A ILLINOIS CC LICENSE: An applicant must meet and maintain the following requirements:
least twenty-one (21) years of age;
not been convicted –or- found guilty in any state of:
misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person in the past 5
or more violations related to DUI of alcohol, or other drug(s), intoxicating
compound(s) in the past 5 years.
be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an
offense or action that could lead to disqualification.
have been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol
detoxification, or drug treatment in the past 5 years.
- Must have your home state Concealed Carry Permit.
- 16 hours required training. (Your NE training class waives 8 hours, you must then take a 8 hour IL specific class taught
by an IL State Police approved Instructor)
Florida Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits:
A resident of any state can obtain a state of Florida permit to carry a
concealed weapon, that is valid in many different states. Florida permits issues after June 11, 2008 are now valid for
Taking your Nebraska CCW course from us, meets the training requirement
for the Florida permit. You do not need to take any additional classes.
To apply for a Florida Permit, first go to this website:
And order the 4 following forms (free of charge) to be sent to your home:
- Fingerprint Card (Firearms Licenses)
- Concealed Weapon or Firearm Application
- How to be licensed to carry a concealed weapon or firearm brochure
- Questions and Answers pertaining to the use of deadly force brochure
You will then need to have a local law enforcement agency finger print you
(on the Florida fingerprint cards), you will need a passport photo (easily done at WalMart or Walgreens), and you will need
to have your application signed and notarized. Everything is then done through the mail. Florida permits typically take 90
days to process.
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You must be able to demonstrate competency with a firearm.
- Unless you are serving overseas in the United States Armed Forces, you must currently reside in the United
States (US) AND be a US citizen or deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by Department of Homeland Security, US Citizenship
and Immigration Service (USCIS). If you are serving overseas in the US Armed Forces, submit a copy of your deployment documentation
with your application. If you are not a US citizen, submit documentation issued by the USCIS proving you are a permanent legal
resident alien with proof you have resided in the state of residence (as shown on your application) for at least 90 consecutive
days prior to the date the application is submitted.
Proof of residence includes, but is not limited to:
- Monthly utility, telephone, power, or cable bills, which show your name and address.
- Monthly pay stubs or other documentation from your employer, which show your name
- Monthly credit card statements, which show your name and address.
Possible Reasons for Ineligibility:
- The physical inability to handle a firearm safely.
- A felony conviction (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority).
- Having adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence unless three
years have elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled.
- A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years.
- A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws or multiple arrests for such offenses.
- A record of drug or alcohol abuse.
- Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years.
- Being committed to a mental institution or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
- Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm.
- Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently
- Renouncement of U.S. citizenship.
- A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Being a fugitive from justice.
Arizona Concealed Weapons Permits:
An individual with a Nebraska Concealed Handgun permit can also apply for a AZ concealed weapon permit.
The process is simple.
- Have NSP fingerprint you on TWO AZ fingerprint cards and return them with a photcopy of your NE CHP, money
order for $60 and the completed application.
More info on AZ permits:
*** NOTE you do NOT have to take an AZ training class as long as you have the NE CHP, the training requirement is covered!